Coming Up

Club run
Wed 20th Nov
Warts run
Wed 20th Nov
Other runs
Juniors - Odin Mine
Sun 17th Nov


Dark Peak Fell Runners
42m • 15/11/2019 • 10:12

Dark Peak Fell Runners
8h • 15/11/2019 • 2:02

David Holmes
23h • 14/11/2019 • 11:26

Friends of the Peak
1d • 14/11/2019 • 8:57

Dark Peak Fell Runners
2d • 12/11/2019 • 13:52

Rach FindlayRobinson
3d • 12/11/2019 • 9:06

Dark Peak Fell Runners
3d • 11/11/2019 • 11:24

Dark Peak Fell Runners
4d • 11/11/2019 • 7:39

Dark Peak Fell Runners
4d • 11/11/2019 • 7:31

5d • 10/11/2019 • 10:38

Dark Peak Fell Runners
5d • 9/11/2019 • 18:24

Dominic Watts
8d • 6/11/2019 • 15:42

Summit Fever Media
9d • 6/11/2019 • 8:45

Coldhouse Collective
10d • 4/11/2019 • 13:58

George Fisher Ltd
12d • 3/11/2019 • 10:02

George Fisher Ltd
12d • 3/11/2019 • 10:01

George Fisher Ltd
12d • 3/11/2019 • 10:00

From the Photos page


Back Tor and Back on Wednesday 4th May 1994

Originally intended as a once only 20th wedding anniversary celebration, this little race attracted enough masochistic appreciation to justify being run again. The original September date was marred by midgies, bad for the competitors and even worse for the time keepers. Subsequent races were switched to the spring. For a while invitations were dished out to Penistone and a number of non-Dark Peakers have competed. Winners have included Tim Tett (several times), Micah Wilson (twice) and Mike Jubb (course record holder) as well as Rob Pearson, Andy Moffat and Mark Harvey. The ladies record is held by Carol Greenwood and the fastest veteran is Mike Greaves.

Over the years most Dark Peakers realised what a vicious little race it is and support has waned. Last year we decided to alter the course but as 1994 was to be our last year in Sheffield we decided to maintain the format once more to allow a new organiser (Howard Swindells) a free hand to design \"Back Tor and Beyond and Back\" to his own liking. Fortunately the trophy awarded by Ken Slack (one time landlord of \"The Strines\") is inscribed \"Strines Fell Race\" so that leaves Howard choice of route and name.

All of this, together with a cold wet evening reduced the starting field to only sixteen and with two of them \"did not finished\" (something never previously recorded). This did not prevent a keenly fought race with only 75 seconds separating the first six. Victory went to John Cant by just 4 seconds from Phil Smith. Alan Yates claimed the veterans prize and Jenny James (who had been ahead of Alan at the trig) came in first lady.

Thanks to everyone who has supported the race over the years and good luck to Howard with the new format.

Peter Kohn
16 starters
Click the to see results for the athlete in all results for this event, click the name for all known results for the athlete
1Jon Cant00:24:34   
2Phil Smith00:24:38   
3Rob Hutton00:24:43Dark PeakM 
4Rob Davison00:25:32Dark PeakM 
5Mike Pedley00:25:42Dark PeakM 
6Roger Woods00:25:47Dark PeakM 
7Alan Yates00:26:57Dark PeakMV45 
8John Myers00:27:28Dark PeakMV40 
9Jenny James00:27:50   
10John Herbert00:28:24Dark PeakM 
11Paul Haynes00:29:29Dark PeakMV45 
12Roy Small00:30:52Dark PeakMV40 
13Harry Bell00:34:02   
14Al Wright00:35:09   

© Dark Peak Fell Runners 2019

Powered by Yii Framework