Coming Up

DPFR race
Kinder Springs TT
Other runs
Tue 29th Sep
Stoke Ford to Sir William Hill
Wed 30th Sep


Rob Flynn
13h • 26/09/2020 • 17:37

Dark Peak Fell Runners
17h • 26/09/2020 • 14:05

Dark Peak Fell Runners
17h • 26/09/2020 • 14:04

Dark Peak Fell Runners
18h • 26/09/2020 • 12:23

Brown Ink
1d • 25/09/2020 • 17:54

1d • 25/09/2020 • 17:18

Dark Peak Fell Runners
3d • 24/09/2020 • 4:04

Dark Peak Fell Runners
4d • 22/09/2020 • 20:09

4d • 22/09/2020 • 18:09

Dark Peak Fell Runners
4d • 22/09/2020 • 12:58

Dark Peak Fell Runners
5d • 21/09/2020 • 19:12

David Holmes
5d • 21/09/2020 • 8:26

Dark Peak Fell Runners
6d • 20/09/2020 • 23:35

GregThompson (Grizzle)
6d • 20/09/2020 • 18:23

Dark Peak Fell Runners
6d • 20/09/2020 • 18:22

Dark Peak Fell Runners
6d • 20/09/2020 • 18:07

James Pierce (Drugtrain)
6d • 20/09/2020 • 15:00

Charlie Massey
6d • 20/09/2020 • 9:28

Stuart Walker
7d • 19/09/2020 • 19:22

Stuart Walker
7d • 19/09/2020 • 19:12

From the Photos page


Dungworth on Saturday 26th September 2009

Contents of the historic Brasso tin more or less corresponded to the record entry of 51 participants for the 25th running of DPFR’s celebration of autumn’s arrival. Untypical wall-to-wall sunshine enhanced the anniversary party. The usual grateful acknowledgements are due to: all at the Royal Hotel for their support and hospitality; Mrs Harper for gracing the post-race ceremonies with her presence; David Sanderson of Woodside Farm for granting access to the flanks of Ughill Heights; Bradfield Parish Council, especially Eric who lovingly tends the tracks and paths; Sue Buckle who did sterling work at the finish (ably supported by memory-man Mick Stenton) having ensured on the Friday that there was tape every five yards around the bent-tennis-racket shaped course. Finally, thanks to everybody who turned up to make it, again, a very happy occasion.

The reputation of the Royal Dungworth is spreading into high realms, as is evidenced by the Valley Hill contingent from Chapeltown and the appearance of first lady Natasha Poole, representing OUCCC. The ‘moose head’ should make a nice talking point in Oxford common rooms. Tom Webb is to be congratulated for notching his third win, to have his mantelpiece graced again by the coveted Granville Harper memorial trophy.

These two were undisputed and worthy winners of their respective categories, while many others put in commendable individual efforts. The most spectacular of these was V60 Dick Pasley’s mustering of superhuman powers to hold off young Andrew Carr in a thrilling sprint finish. Controversy, however, surrounded entitlement Hiro’s Fan. (On the background to the trophy, see the report attached to results for 1990, 1991, 1993, etc.) Andy Howie arrived from Hayfield as firm favourite to scoop the award for a third consecutive time and thus to keep it in perpetuity. He managed to stay out of trouble, though, and side-stepped the conspiracy to fit him out with life-time possession of the grotesque simulacrum. His relief at this must have been much magnified by his joy at returning home as number 1 Knott Fell Runners man for 2009, the Royal Dungworth being their club championship race. Eoin Connaughton’s conventional ‘reverse Ughill Brook with tuck’ could have ensured success for him. The fact that he was not present at the award and speech-making ceremony in the Royal Hotel aroused suspicions among some of the old lags, however, and an intense forensic discussion ensued concerning the erratic behaviour of Tom Webb and Simon Bacsich. A strong case was made for the Fan to go to Tom for his lurch off towards Stannington in the final mile, an aberration on which Mick Stenton might have capitalised if he’d gone down on all fours in Ringwood Lane. Simon was charged with doing some diversionary footwork of such subtlety that nobody really understood what it was. A three-way draw was eventually declared and Simon (being the only one of the three contenders in the pub) went home with the trophy, to be passed to Eoin and then to Tom.

A date for next year’s diaries: the Royal Dungworth will take place on Saturday, September 25, 2010, usual place/usual time.

Alan Yates
51 starters
Click the to see results for the athlete in all results for this event, click the name for all known results for the athlete
1Thomas Webb00:35:28Dark PeakM 
2Mick Stenton00:36:12Dark PeakMV45 
3John Slate00:36:42HH  
4Damien Kilpin00:36:57Penistone FPR  
5Ron Fawcett00:37:20Dark PeakMV50 
6George Yates00:37:36Dark PeakM 
7Gavin Williams00:37:58Dark PeakMV45 
8Nick Kirk00:37:59Dark PeakMV40 
9Simon Bacsich00:38:44Dark PeakM 
10Andrew Moore00:38:53Dark PeakMV50 
11Russel Beresford00:39:05Dark PeakMV45 
12Michael Carr00:39:10U/A  
13Dave Allen00:39:15Dark PeakMV50 
14Lewis Carr00:39:48U/A  
15Natasha Poole00:40:04OUCCC  
16Jonathan Wales00:40:11Dark PeakM 
17Greg Rimmer00:40:13Dark PeakMV45 
18Tim Spencer00:41:13   
19Andy Howie00:41:23Knott FR  
20Nick Morris00:41:36Penistone FPR  

© Dark Peak Fell Runners 2020

Powered by Yii Framework